What Style of Wine Are You Feeling Today?

1435941155830

I’m a fan of all wine styles. And since I have a repertoire of taste profiles I’m familiar with, I can select wines based on how I’m feeling that day. I have plenty of wine shops at my disposal to indulge me.

I know where to go when I just want a simple wine; Whole Foods Market. When I want a serious wine I go see my friend Amy at Talk of the Table. When I want to be dazzled and excited to the point of overwhelm I go to Total Wine & More. There are many others but these are the ones within my immediate reach. Get to know your area wine shops and what they have to offer you.

Navigating a wine shop is not hard if you are armed with information. Let me help get you going. First off, the style of a wine is how it tastes. It’s that simple! Here are some profiles of some of my go-to wine styles.

I would suggest focusing on one style at a time so that by the time you’re done you will be an expert at picking the ones you love:

I pick this style when I feel like I want to eat an entire chocolate cake with buttercream icing,The Sweet Wine. This style is relatively easy to pick out in a wine shop. The bottles that get your attention say “Moscato” on them or “Sweet”. These wines also smell good, like perfume.

  • Riesling (Germany, Alsace, California, New York State Fingerlakes
  • Gewürztraminer (from Alsace, Germany, Northern Italy, California, New York State Fingerlakes
  • Muscat  (Italy’s Moscato d’ Asti, California)
  • Ice wine (Canada)

For some real adventure try: Mocadello di Montalcino (Italy), Port Wine (Portugal) and Madeira

I pick this style when the weather is sunny, I’m on the deck and I feel carefree; The Mild Carefree Wine. These wines are fresh and non-oaky with subtle to medium fruit and make you feel good when you’re sipping them.

  • Pinot Grigio (Italy)
  • Soave (Italy)
  • Chenin Blanc (France)
  • Chablis – Chardonnay (France)
  • White Bordeaux – Sauvignon Blanc (France)
  • Sancerre – Sauvignon Blanc (Loire Valley France)
  • Rose (Provence France)
  • Champagne (France)

I pick this style when I want an uncomplicated red; The Fruity Vibrant Red Wine. Here’s where location is key. There are pockets of areas within each region where the style of wine produced is vibrant and fruity. These are usually, but not always, hot climate areas. I won’t get into aspect, hillsides, and altitude here. Let’s just say tradition is a factor also:

  • Beaujolais – Gamay (Burgundy France)
  • Nero d’ Avola (Sicily Italy)
  • Sangiovese (Tuscany Italy)
  • Shiraz (Australia)
  • Valpolicella (Veneto Italy)

These are some of my full throttle, all out, I’m feeling myself and the world around me wines; The Power Wines. Sip slowly and feel the power:

  • Barolo (Piedmont Italy)
  • Zinfandel (Sonoma, Napa California)
  • Ribera del Duero (Spain)
  • Cabernet Sauvignon (Napa California)
  • Super Tuscan (Italy)
  • Amarone della Valpolicella (Veneto Italy)

This is just a sampling of wine styles. There are many other moods and styles to match. What’s most important is to find the style(s) that works for you.

It’s empowering to be able to indulge and connect with yourself and pick a wine that matches what you are feeling. Have fun exploring!

Salud

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “What Style of Wine Are You Feeling Today?

Leave a comment